Skyping Africa…attempting to connect with God

Standard

Today was my first attempt ever to Skype with someone in Africa. It was a process just to get to the moment of actually making the video call. First, I had to find out the correct name under which to look them up on Skype.  Then, I had to find them on Skype and send a request to set up an appointment to talk with them. They never received my Skype request so I tried adding them on facebook. Never heard from them on facebook so I ended up sending an email. Email? That seems so primitive when I have all these other more advanced forms of social media and communication. Email worked so once I had made contact and established a Skype time I was “good to go.” I woke up early to accommodate the 8 hour time difference, carefully planned out how to introduce myself and what I wanted to say in the conversation, and at 8:00, I made the call. Waiting…connecting…sending… Trying again…waiting…connecting…sending… Again…waiting…connecting…sending… Every time “unable to connect.” No way! Seriously? I had been warned that rain or power outage could decrease my chances of getting through, but I expected to go right through. The African believers were waiting on the other end of the line (so to speak). They were anticipating my call. We were going to meet for the first time. I got off the computer and went on with my day. Later I received a phone call that the Africans had contacted my friend to say they were waiting for my call. They were waiting and I was trying but it did not go through.

There has to be a parallel here between Skyping with the people in Africa and interacting with my Lord. Do I take way longer than should be necessary to try to establish a connection with my Lord? “When things settle down and I have time, I really should pray about this.” Do I plan out our interaction rather than going straight to the interaction to begin with? “I will spend time in prayer during worship or as I go to bed or after I get off work or tomorrow morning…maybe.” Do I look for more modern ways to connect rather than concentrating on prayer as the ultimate connector? “I’m sure someone has written a book on this topic or maybe there is a podcast to tell me what to do.” Do I think of prayer as old school and out of date? “With the Holy Spirit in residence in my heart, I should be able to sense what to do, right?” Do I discount the value of living clean before a holy God expecting Him to be at my beck and call? “I know I haven’t been living the best, but if He really wanted to get through to me, He would.”

“I mean…you know how it is…I try to pray and stuff, but well… God and me, we just don’t connect like other people talk about connecting with Him.” All the while, He is waiting…ready and willing. I accept the message, “Unable to connect” and go on about my day.

Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be known to God. ~ Phil. 4:6

I was anxious to get Africa on the line, but all I knew to say to them was an expression of gratitude. Are you like that today? Not sure what you would say if you had God on the line. How about starting out with an expression of gratitude? I bet the conversation will flow nice and smooth and you will enjoy an uninterrupted connection.

 

Leave a comment